South Asian Economics Students’ Meet (SAESM), 2019, Colombo


21 – 26 January 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Department of Economics
In association with SAESM India and SAESM Pakistan

Download the call

The Department of Economics, University of Colombo announces the 15th South Asian Economics Students’ Meet (SAESM) 2019, scheduled to be held in Colombo from 21 – 26 January, 2019. SAESM is a well-established regional forum of the South Asian undergraduate students, recognized by the World Bank and other donor agencies, government bodies, corporate sector and  the higher educational institutes in the region. The event provides an opportunity for the undergraduate students to write academic papers on timely issues in the region, to present the papers at the conference, to share the experience, and to learn from each other, while promoting their knowledge on development and cooperation in the South Asian countries. The annual SAESM usually consists of a conference of the undergraduates in which they present country research papers, a quiz contest, budding economist competition, etc. and a sightseeing retreat for all the delegates.


SAESM is an annual conference and a get-together of undergraduate students following or majoring Economics in Universities and higher educational institutions in South Asia. Country teams of students are organized by the respective Country Coordinators and/or the respective Faculty members who will accompany the respective teams to Colombo. A limited number of opportunities will be provided for University students from other countries who have an academic interest in Economics studies related to South Asia.

Coordinating Institutions

1. Afghanistan: Kabul University, Department of Economics
2. Bangladesh: University of Dhaka, Department of Economics
3. Bhutan: Royal Thimphu College, Department of Economics and, Sherubtse College, Department of Economics
4. India: SAESM India
5. Nepal: Tribhuvan University, Central Department of Economics
6. Pakistan: Lahore University of Management Sciences, Pakistan
7. Sri Lanka: University of Colombo, Department of Economics